Back to Blog
Comparisons

Power Diary (Zanda) Alternatives 2026: 8 Compared on Price

Power Diary is now Zanda, and the main alternatives in 2026 are: Cliniko for a flat price that beats Zanda from three practitioners, Jane for a polished all-in-one in Canadian dollars, Nookal for Medicare and ACC claiming in Australia and New Zealand, Halaxy for no fixed monthly cost, Carepatron for a free plan, WriteUpp for UK and Irish clinics, SimplePractice for US therapists, and Relatica, our own product, for clinics in Cyprus and Greece. Each entry below says what it costs for one and five practitioners and how it differs from Zanda. Prices from each vendor's page, checked in October 2026.

The 8 alternatives at a glance

ProductBest forOne practitionerFive practitionersTrial or free planBased in
Zanda (Power Diary), for referenceAllied health on a budgetUS$19/month (Starter, up to 1,000 appointments)US$125/month (Growth: US$49 + 4 × US$19)14 days, no cardAustralia
ClinikoTeams of three to eight, flat priceUS$45/monthUS$95/month30 days, no cardAustralia
JanePolished all-in-one, unlimited free SMSCA$59–99/monthPlan price + rate per extra practitionerNo trial, demo accountCanada
NookalMedicare and ACC claimingAU$49, £29, €65 or US$65/month5 × the per-practitioner priceNo card at sign-upAustralia
HalaxyNo fixed monthly costAU$0 + creditsAU$0 + creditsFree planAustralia
CarepatronFree plan with unlimited practitionersFree; Plus US$15.50/userFree; Plus US$77.50Free planNot stated
WriteUppUK and Ireland£27.95/month (Solo)From £45.95/month (Group)30 days, no cardUK
SimplePracticeUS therapists and counsellorsUS$49–99/monthGroup pricing on the pricing page30 daysUS
RelaticaCyprus and Greece, Greek and Russian, dentalFree (Solo, 50 patients) or €49/month€99/month (Team)Free plan, no time limitCyprus

Why clinics leave Zanda

  • Price as the team grows. Growth is US$49 plus US$19 for each additional practitioner, so five practitioners pay US$125 a month, where Cliniko charges US$95 for up to five.
  • The promotion ends. New accounts pay half for the first six months; the full price arrives in month seven.
  • Region and language. Data is hosted in the US, the UK or Australia, with no EU-mainland or Canadian region, and the interface is English only.
  • The name change. Some clinics use the Power Diary to Zanda rename as a reason to look around. That alone is not a reason to move.

1. Cliniko: cheaper than Zanda from three practitioners

Cliniko is Zanda's closest rival: the same Australian allied-health roots and a very similar feature set (online booking, reminders, integrated telehealth, notes templates and body charts, intake forms, groups, wait list, online payments, stock and product sales). The difference is the price model: US$45 a month for one practitioner, US$95 for two to five, US$145 for six to eight, with unlimited reception users and every feature included. Data is stored in Australia, the UK, Canada or Ireland. Source: cliniko.com/pricing.

  • Compared with Power Diary: more expensive for one or two practitioners, cheaper from three; no client portal or built-in Medicare claiming listed, but a Canadian and an Irish data region. See Cliniko vs Zanda.

2. Jane: the polished all-in-one

Jane gives you a branded booking site, charting, invoicing, 1:1 telehealth on every plan and unlimited free SMS reminders where available. Prices are in Canadian dollars: Balance CA$59 a month (one practitioner, 20 appointments a month), Practice CA$79 and Thrive CA$99, each with one full-time practitioner and part-time or full-time rates for the rest. No free trial; demo accounts instead, and help with data imports at no extra cost. Source: jane.app/pricing.

  • Compared with Power Diary: more expensive, but SMS reminders are free and unlimited, which can close the gap for a clinic that sends thousands. Best fit in Canada.

3. Nookal: claiming built in for Australia and New Zealand

Nookal charges per practitioner in your currency: Essentials AU$49, £29, €65 or US$65 a month, Professional AU$59, £39, €89 or US$89. Medicare claims cost from $0.10 each and New Zealand ACC claims $0.12; SMS from $0.07. Extras such as a patient portal (from $10 per location) and AI with voice ($25 per licence) are add-ons. It lists Australia, New Zealand, the UK, Ireland, Canada, South Africa and the US as markets. Source: nookal.com/pricing.

  • Compared with Power Diary: more expensive per practitioner (AU$49 against Zanda's US$19 Starter), with claiming priced per claim and a portal as a paid add-on; a fit if ACC or Medicare claiming drives your choice.

4. Halaxy: no fixed monthly cost

Halaxy's core platform is free: calendar, online bookings and directory listing, email reminders, clinical notes, patient records, invoicing and reports. SMS, telehealth, e-scripts, the AI scribe and funding-body claims (Medicare, DVA, NDIS, HICAPS and others) use credits at AU$0.15–0.22 each, and card payments cost 1.5–1.9% per transaction. Source: halaxy.com/pricing.

  • Compared with Power Diary: cheaper for a quiet practice, possibly dearer for one that sends many SMS and runs telehealth daily. See Halaxy vs Cliniko for how the credits work.

5. Carepatron: a free plan with no practitioner limit

Carepatron's Free plan has unlimited clients and practitioners and 1 GB of storage. Plus is US$15.50 per user and Advanced US$19.50 at the promotional rate shown in October 2026 (regular US$31 and US$39), with 150 or 200 SMS per user a month and telehealth on every plan. It lists GDPR and HIPAA but does not state where data is hosted. Source: carepatron.com/pricing.

  • Compared with Power Diary: a genuinely free start and a lower per-user price on the paid plans; less clarity on data location and support hours.

6. WriteUpp: for UK and Irish clinicians

WriteUpp is UK-founded: Flex £19.95 per user pay-as-you-go, Solo £27.95 a month, Group from £45.95 for two or more clinicians, a 30-day trial without a card, and 100 SMS credits a month on Solo and Group. Source: writeupp.com/pricing.

  • Compared with Power Diary: priced in pounds with a longer trial; the natural move for a UK or Irish practice that wants a local vendor.

7. SimplePractice: for US therapists

SimplePractice serves therapists and counsellors in the US: Starter US$49, Essential US$79 and Plus US$99 a month for a solo practice, group pricing from US$49.50 for the first practitioner and US$37 for each additional one at the promotional rate, and a 30-day trial. It is HIPAA compliant and HITRUST certified. Source: simplepractice.com/pricing.

  • Compared with Power Diary: the better choice for a US mental-health practice; not built for allied health outside the US.

8. Relatica (our product): for Cyprus and Greece

Relatica is built in Limassol. The interface, the booking page and patient messages are in English, Greek and Russian; GHS visits record the beneficiary number, the co-payment and the claim status; there is an FDI tooth chart, treatment plans, session packages, consent forms signed with a finger and SMS reminders in the patient's language. Solo is free for one practitioner with up to 50 patients, Practice €49 a month, Team €99 for up to five, and data is stored in the EU. We move history, notes and documents from your old system free of charge.

  • Compared with Power Diary: the choice if you work in Greek or Russian, see GHS patients, run a dental practice or want euros and an EU data region. It has no telehealth, no client portal with login and no Xero integration, which Zanda has.

Pick by situation

  • Solo practitioner, any country, English: stay on Zanda Starter at US$19, or Carepatron Free.
  • Three to five practitioners: Cliniko at US$95 a month.
  • Australia or New Zealand with daily claiming: Nookal or Halaxy.
  • Canada: Jane.
  • UK or Ireland: WriteUpp.
  • US therapy practice: SimplePractice.
  • Cyprus or Greece: Relatica.
What happened to Power Diary?

Power Diary renamed itself Zanda. The product and the company are the same, and powerdiary.com now redirects to zandahealth.com.

What is the best Power Diary alternative?

For teams of three or more, Cliniko, which charges US$95 a month for up to five practitioners. For Australian claiming, Nookal or Halaxy. For a free start, Carepatron or Halaxy. In the UK, WriteUpp; in Canada, Jane; in Cyprus and Greece, Relatica.

Is there a free alternative to Power Diary?

Halaxy and Carepatron have free plans, and Relatica Solo is free for one practitioner with up to 50 patients.

How much does Zanda cost in 2026?

Starter is US$19 a month for one practitioner and up to 1,000 appointments; Growth is US$49 including one practitioner plus US$19 for each additional one, with unlimited appointments. Accounts started in October 2026 get 50% off for six months.

Can I export my data from Zanda?

Ask Zanda for a client export before you cancel, and ask the new vendor which records it imports. Most products here import a client CSV; notes and history depend on the vendor.

Related reading

Start managing your clinic more efficiently

Modern clinic management software for dental clinics, medical practices, and beauty salons.

Try Relatica