Back to Blog
Comparisons

Cliniko Alternatives (2026): 12 Compared on Price & Region

Updated

The best Cliniko alternatives in 2026: Zanda for the same allied-health model at a lower price, Jane for a polished all-in-one in Canadian dollars, Nookal in Australia and New Zealand, WriteUpp or TM3 in the UK and Ireland, Pabau for aesthetic clinics, SimplePractice for therapists in the US, Carepatron or Halaxy for a free core product, Iatrico or Galinos Office in Cyprus and Greece, and Relatica, our own product, for Greek or Russian-speaking teams, GHS patients and dental practices. Every price below comes from the vendor's own page, checked in October 2026.

The 12 alternatives at a glance

ProductBest forEntry price (public)Free plan or trialUI languagesData hosted inBased in
Zanda (ex Power Diary)Allied health on a budget, same model as ClinikoUS$19/month, 1 practitioner (Starter); Growth US$49 + US$19 per practitioner14-day trialEnglishUS, UK or Australia; other regions assigned to London, Virginia or SydneyAustralia
JaneAll-in-one with unlimited free SMS remindersCA$59/month (Balance, 20 appointments); CA$79 Practice; CA$99 ThriveNo trial, demo account on requestEnglishNot stated on the pricing pageCanada (prices in CAD)
NookalAustralia and New Zealand, with Medicare and ACC claimingAU$49, £29, €65 or US$65 per practitioner/month (Essentials); Professional AU$59, £39, €89 or US$89No card at sign-up; trial length not statedEnglishNot statedAustralia
WriteUppUK and Irish clinics, NHS-adjacent private practice£19.95/user pay-as-you-go (Flex); £27.95 Solo; from £45.95 Group30-day trialEnglish (UK, CA, US)Not statedUK
TM3UK physio and MSK clinics that bill insurers£39/user/month (Good); £55 Better; £70 Best; excluding VATNot statedEnglishNot statedUK
PabauAesthetic and medspa clinics that also sellFrom US$104/month for one user; larger teams quoted after a demoNot statedNot statedNot statedUK
SimplePracticeTherapists and counsellors in the USUS$49/month (Starter); US$79 Essential; US$99 Plus30-day trialEnglishNot stated (HIPAA, US market)US
CarepatronFree core with unlimited practitioners, paid per user for moreFree; Plus US$15.50/user; Advanced US$19.50/user (promotional, regular US$31 and US$39)Yes, 1 GB storageEnglishNot statedNot stated
HalaxyFree core platform, pay per credit for SMS and extrasFree; credits AU$0.15–0.22 each; payments 1.5–1.9% + AU$0.75–1YesEnglishNot statedAustralia
IatricoCyprus: local EMR, mobile app, physio edition€20/month Essential (1 practitioner, +€9 each); €49 Complete with records; billed annuallyNot listedNot statedAWS Ireland (EU)Nicosia, Cyprus
Galinos OfficeGreek doctors who prescribe; drug database firstFree up to 150 patients; paid plans not publishedYesGreekNot publishedGreece
RelaticaGreek or Russian-speaking teams, GHS, dentalFree (Solo, 1 practitioner, 50 patients); €49 Practice; €99 Team up to 5Yes, no time limitEnglish, Greek, RussianEULimassol, Cyprus

For reference, Cliniko itself: US$45 a month for one practitioner, US$95 for two to five, US$145 for six to eight; a 30-day trial; SMS at 10 cents; data stored in Australia, the UK, Canada or Ireland depending on where the account is created, with a Data Processing Addendum and Standard Contractual Clauses for EU customers. Source: cliniko.com/pricing and cliniko.com/security.

Cliniko vs Halaxy vs Zanda: the short answer

These three are the Australian allied-health systems people compare most, and they differ mainly in how you pay.

ClinikoHalaxyZanda (Power Diary)
How you payFixed monthly fee by number of practitionersFree core; credits for SMS, telehealth, e-scripts and AIMonthly fee per practitioner
One practitionerUS$45/monthAU$0 + creditsUS$19/month (Starter)
Two to five practitionersUS$95/monthAU$0 + creditsGrowth: US$49 + US$19 per additional practitioner
SMS10 centsAU$0.15–0.22 per creditUS$0.09, replies free
Trial30 daysFree plan14 days
Data regionAustralia, UK, Canada or Ireland by accountNot statedUS, UK or Australia
  • Pick Halaxy if you want no fixed monthly cost; estimate a month of SMS, telehealth and card payments in credits before you switch.
  • Pick Zanda if you like Cliniko's way of working and want a lower entry price per practitioner.
  • Stay on Cliniko if you value a single predictable bill and data stored in Ireland for an EU practice.

Full head-to-head comparisons: Halaxy vs Cliniko, Cliniko vs Zanda and Cliniko vs TM3 for UK clinics.

Why clinics leave Cliniko

Cliniko is a good product. It has been around since 2010, every plan has every feature, and clinics that leave it usually have one concrete reason. This list is written by a competing vendor, which you should keep in mind, but every price and every claim below links to the page it came from, and the things we are not good at are stated in our own entry.

  • Dollars. The bill is in US dollars whatever country you are in, so a European, British or Australian clinic pays a different amount every month.
  • One language. The interface, the booking page and the reminders are in English. Cliniko does not publish an interface-language list because there is only one.
  • Local payers. Cliniko can invoice a third party, but it has no concept of a GHS or EOPYY beneficiary and co-payment, and UK clinics that bill insurers often want the insurer workflow built in.
  • Not dental, not aesthetics-first. There is no tooth chart and no per-tooth treatment plan, and aesthetic clinics that sell packages and stock usually want a system built around that.
  • Price at scale. US$45 for one practitioner is fair. US$95 for two is also fair. The jump to US$145 at six practitioners and US$195 at nine is where multi-room clinics start looking.

How we picked

We started from the products that appear on Cliniko-alternative lists written by Capterra, GetApp and the vendors themselves, then kept the ones a clinic can actually buy: a published price or a free plan, online booking, reminders, a patient record, and a privacy page a data-protection officer can read. We added the two local products a Cypriot or Greek clinic will hear about from colleagues. We did not score on feature count. Each entry answers the same four questions: what it costs, what language it speaks, where the data lives, and what it does not do.

1. Zanda (formerly Power Diary): best like-for-like replacement

Zanda is the closest like-for-like replacement for Cliniko: the same Australian allied-health roots, the same calendar-first design, and a lower entry price. Starter is US$19 a month for one practitioner (US$9.50 for the first six months at the time of writing), Growth is US$49 plus US$19 per additional practitioner, and there is a 14-day trial with no card. SMS reminders cost US$0.09 each and replies are free. Telehealth is included, with a Pro tier at US$9 per practitioner. Zanda is ISO 27001 certified and states GDPR compliance for both the UK and the EU; data is hosted in the US, the UK or Sydney, and accounts from other regions are assigned to London, Northern Virginia or Sydney. There is no EU-mainland region. Sources: zandahealth.com/pricing, zandahealth.com/security. We also keep a detailed Relatica vs Zanda page; see also Cliniko vs Zanda and Power Diary alternatives.

  • Choose it if you like how Cliniko works and simply want the same thing for less, with telehealth and recurring appointments.
  • Skip it if you need a non-English interface, an EU data region, or dental tools; and note that the headline price doubles after the six-month promotion.

2. Jane: best all-in-one, priced in Canadian dollars

Jane is the product people switch to when they want everything polished: a branded booking site, charting, invoicing, 1:1 telehealth on every plan and unlimited free SMS reminders (availability varies by region). Pricing is in Canadian dollars: Balance at CA$59 a month for a single practitioner limited to 20 appointments a month, Practice at CA$79 and Thrive at CA$99, each including one full-time practitioner with part-time and full-time rates for the rest. There is no free trial; Jane offers demo accounts instead and does not charge extra for help with data imports. The pricing page mentions GDPR compliance but does not state where European customers' data is hosted, so ask before you sign. Source: jane.app/pricing.

  • Choose it if you are in Canada, or you want the most complete all-in-one here and your clinic works in English.
  • Skip it if you want to try before paying, need a stated EU hosting region, or your reception reads Greek or Russian.

3. Nookal: best for Australia and New Zealand

Nookal is an Australian allied-health system and the one Cliniko users in Australia and New Zealand compare most often, because claiming is built in: Medicare claims from $0.10 each and New Zealand ACC claims at $0.12. It is priced per practitioner in the clinic's own currency: Essentials at AU$49, £29, €65 or US$65 a month, Professional at AU$59, £39, €89 or US$89, Enterprise on request. Extras are separate: AI and voice at $25 per active licence, a patient portal from $10 per location, secure messaging from $1.50 per user, SMS from $0.07. The pricing page covers Australia, New Zealand, the UK, Ireland, Canada, South Africa and the US, states GDPR compliance and shows SOC 2 Type 2 and HIPAA; it does not name a hosting region. Sign-up asks for no card; the trial length is not stated. Source: nookal.com/pricing.

  • Choose it if you are in Australia or New Zealand and want Medicare or ACC claiming in the same system as the diary.
  • Skip it if you are in the eurozone and price matters: €65 per practitioner is more than Cliniko's US$45, and add-ons are extra.

4. WriteUpp: best for UK and Irish clinicians

WriteUpp is UK-founded and sells itself openly as the Cliniko alternative for UK and Irish clinicians, so it is the natural choice if your practice is in those countries or bills NHS-adjacent private work. Flex is £19.95 per user pay-as-you-go, Solo is £27.95 a month, Group starts at £45.95 for two or more clinicians, and every plan has a 30-day trial without a card. Solo and Group include 100 SMS credits a month, 1:1 video consultations and online booking; an AI scribe is an add-on at £23.95 per user. The site offers regional pricing in euros and US dollars and shows English (UK, Canada, US) as its interface options. Hosting location is not stated on the pricing page. Source: writeupp.com/pricing.

  • Choose it if you are in the UK or Ireland, want pounds on the invoice and a long trial.
  • Skip it if you are outside the British Isles and need local payers or a non-English interface.

5. TM3: best for UK physio and MSK clinics that bill insurers

TM3 is the long-established UK system for physiotherapy and MSK clinics, made by Blue Zinc, now part of ClearCourse. Pricing is per user per month, excluding VAT: Good at £39, Better at £55, Best at £70. Insurer billing is an add-on, Connect for Insurance at £10 per licence, and the Better and Best tiers include the Healthcode, Mailchimp and exercise-prescription integrations; Xero and other connectors come with an Integration Hub add-on at £30. The site states GDPR compliance, ISO 27001 and Cyber Essentials; it does not state a hosting region, and the pricing page mentions no trial. TM3 now lives at tm3app.com; the old tm3.co.uk address no longer belongs to it. Source: tm3app.com/pricing. See Cliniko vs TM3 for a side-by-side.

  • Choose it if you run a UK physio, sports or MSK clinic and much of your income comes from private medical insurers.
  • Skip it if you are outside the UK, or you want to try the product yourself before talking to sales.

6. Pabau: best for aesthetic clinics that also sell

Pabau is the system aesthetic and medspa clinics pick when they want the clinic and the shop in one place: before-and-after photos, consent and treatment forms, packages and memberships, stock control and marketing tools are on every plan. Pricing depends on the number of users rather than features: Solo for one user, then Team (2–3), Medium (4–5), Group (6–15) and Enterprise. The site says pricing starts at US$104 a month for one user; larger plans are quoted after a demo, prices depend on the country, and annual billing saves up to 20%. The pricing page mentions HIPAA and does not state a hosting region or a free trial. Source: pabau.com/pricing. We also keep a Relatica vs Pabau page.

  • Choose it if you run an aesthetic clinic where retail, stock, memberships and marketing campaigns matter as much as the diary.
  • Skip it if you want a published price for a team before a sales call, or you are a small medical practice that will not use the sales tools.

7. SimplePractice: best for US therapists and counsellors

SimplePractice is the standard choice for therapists and counsellors in the United States and appears on almost every US list of Cliniko alternatives. Solo plans are Starter at US$49, Essential at US$79 and Plus at US$99 a month, with half price for the first three months at the time of writing; group practices pay US$49.50 for the first practitioner and US$37 for each additional one at the promotional rate, with custom pricing from six practitioners. There is a 30-day trial. It is HIPAA compliant and HITRUST certified; an AI note taker and ePrescribe (US$24.50 a month plus US$89 setup) are add-ons. The pricing page does not mention GDPR or any market outside the US. Source: simplepractice.com/pricing.

  • Choose it if you are a therapist, counsellor or other mental-health practitioner in the US.
  • Skip it if you are outside the United States: nothing on the pricing page covers GDPR, European payers or non-US billing.

8. Carepatron: best free start for a small team

Carepatron is the free option with the fewest strings: the Free plan has unlimited clients and practitioners and 1 GB of storage, Plus is US$15.50 per user and Advanced US$19.50 per user at the promotional rate shown in October 2026 (regular US$31 and US$39). Plus includes 150 SMS per user a month and Advanced 200, at US$0.05 each beyond that; telehealth is on every plan and group telehealth on the paid ones; online booking can be embedded on your site. The pricing page lists GDPR and HIPAA under compliance and 256-bit encryption, but neither the pricing nor the about page states the company's location or where data is hosted. Source: carepatron.com/pricing.

  • Choose it if you want a genuinely free start for a small team and a per-user price that stays low.
  • Skip it if your data-protection officer needs a named hosting region in writing, or you want a vendor you can phone in your time zone.

9. Halaxy: best for no fixed monthly cost

Halaxy turns the pricing model upside down: the core platform, with calendar, patient management, invoicing, reporting and online bookings, is free, and you pay per credit for the extras. Credits are AU$0.15 to AU$0.22 each and cover SMS, telehealth, e-scripts and the AI scribe; card payments cost 1.5 to 1.9 percent plus AU$0.75 to AU$1 per transaction; two-way calendar sync, white labelling and API access are subscriptions from 25 credits a month. The pricing page is written for Australia and does not state hosting regions, GDPR coverage or interface languages. Source: halaxy.com/pricing. For a side-by-side with Cliniko see Cliniko vs Halaxy vs Zanda above and the full Halaxy vs Cliniko comparison.

  • Choose it if you are in Australia or New Zealand and want zero fixed cost.
  • Skip it if you are in Europe: the payment rails, the credits in Australian dollars and the absence of a GDPR statement all point the other way.

10. Iatrico: best Cypriot EMR with a mobile app

Iatrico is the long-standing Cypriot practice system from Nicosia and the one a Cypriot colleague is most likely to mention. It bundles an electronic medical record with scheduling, invoices, receipts, expenses, financial reports, treatment planning with cost and time estimates, email and SMS reminders, and a mobile app on the App Store and Google Play; there is a physiotherapy edition with exercises and flowsheets. Plans are billed annually: Essential at €20 a month for one practitioner with €9 for each additional one, Complete at €49 with medical records, Physio at €39 for three physiotherapists. Every plan has unlimited users, locations and patients, and data sits on Amazon Web Services in Ireland. The site does not mention the GHS, patient online booking or interface languages. Source: iatrico.com/plans-pricing, checked 23 September 2026. See our Relatica vs Iatrico comparison.

  • Choose it if you want a Cypriot vendor with a mobile app, invoices in euros and a decade of local customers.
  • Skip it if you need a patient booking page, GHS co-payments and claim statuses in the diary, or a Greek and Russian interface confirmed in writing.

11. Galinos Office: best for Greek doctors who prescribe

Galinos is first a Greek drug database, and Galinos Office is the practice program built around it: patient file, appointments, prescribing with interactions and dosing. It is free up to 150 patients and paid plans are not published. The interface is Greek only, and the site does not publish online booking, reminders, claims or hosting details. For a Greek doctor whose day is mostly prescriptions it can be enough; for a multi-practitioner clinic it is usually a reference tool next to something else. Source: galinos.gr. See our Relatica vs Galinos page.

  • Choose it if you prescribe in Greece and want the drug database and a simple file for free.
  • Skip it if you need booking, reminders, claims, several locations or an English-speaking member of staff.

12. Relatica (our product): best for Greek or Russian-speaking teams, GHS and dental

Relatica is built in Limassol for clinics in Cyprus and Greece, and that focus is the whole argument for it. The interface, the public booking page and patient messages exist in English, Greek and Russian, chosen per user and per patient. A GHS visit is modelled as it happens at the desk: beneficiary number, co-payment collected, claim tracked from submitted to paid, with the same for private insurers. There is an FDI tooth chart with surfaces and history and treatment plans with prices linked to appointments. It also sells session packages that count themselves down, sends health questionnaires and consents that patients sign with a finger, and links every SMS to a visit page where the patient can cancel or move the visit. Reminders go by SMS and email in the patient's language, SMS credits are included on paid plans, and data is stored in the EU with a euro VAT invoice. Solo is free for one practitioner with up to 50 patients and no time limit; Practice is €49 a month for one practitioner with everything; Team is €99 for up to five; Clinic is €199 for up to fifteen across three locations. Patients import from a Cliniko CSV in a few minutes, and we move appointment history, notes and documents for you free of charge.

  • Choose it if your team or your patients read Greek or Russian, you see GHS or insurer patients, you run a dental practice, or you want to start free and pay in euros.
  • Skip it if you need telehealth, a public API, accounting integrations such as Xero, a patient portal with login, stock control, or submission of claims to the GHS portal: Relatica does none of these today, and it tracks GHS claims rather than filing them. The full Relatica vs Cliniko page lists everything Cliniko has that we do not.

Cliniko alternatives by country

  • Australia and New Zealand: Nookal if you want Medicare or ACC claiming built in, Halaxy for no fixed cost, Zanda for the lowest subscription. Splose is another Australian allied-health system worth a demo; we have not reviewed its pricing. Cliniko itself is Australian, so staying is a reasonable choice too.
  • United Kingdom and Ireland: WriteUpp for a long trial and pounds on the invoice, TM3 for physio and MSK clinics that bill insurers, Pabau for aesthetic clinics. Nookal also prices in pounds. Kalix is a UK option built for dietitians.
  • Canada: Jane, built in Vancouver and priced in Canadian dollars. Nookal also lists Canada.
  • United States: SimplePractice for therapists and counsellors, Carepatron for a free start, Nookal at US$65 per practitioner for allied health.
  • Cyprus and Greece: Relatica for Greek and Russian, GHS and dental; Iatrico for a Cypriot EMR with a mobile app; Galinos Office for Greek prescribers.
  • Elsewhere in Europe: look at where the data is hosted first. Of the twelve, Iatrico (AWS Ireland) and Relatica (EU) state an EU region; Cliniko stores EU accounts in Ireland.

Cliniko alternatives for aesthetic clinics

Aesthetic clinics leave Cliniko for their own reasons: they sell courses and packages, take before-and-after photos and need a signed consent before each treatment. Three products here are built for that.

  • Pabau has before-and-after photos, consent forms, packages, memberships, stock and marketing on every plan, from US$104 a month for one user. It is the strongest choice if retail and campaigns are part of the business.
  • Relatica sells packages that count down by session, takes consents signed with a finger on a tablet or from a link, puts photos from a phone paired by QR code on the patient record side by side, and schedules the laser room alongside practitioners. It is free for one practitioner and €49 a month for Practice. It has no stock control or point of sale.
  • Jane is the polished all-in-one for an aesthetic clinic that works in English and does not need stock: booking site, charting and invoicing in one product.

Pick by situation

  • Solo practitioner, English, anywhere: Zanda Starter at US$19, or Carepatron Free if you can live with 1 GB.
  • Two to five practitioners, UK or Ireland: WriteUpp Group from £45.95, or TM3 if you bill insurers.
  • Two to five practitioners, Cyprus or Greece: Relatica Team at €99 with Greek and Russian; Iatrico Complete if you want a mobile app and your own records only.
  • Dental practice: Relatica for the tooth chart; none of the other eleven has one. For a wider dental list see best dental software for small practices.
  • Aesthetic clinic: Pabau if you sell retail and memberships, Relatica if packages, consents and photos are enough.
  • Greek prescriber working alone: Galinos Office free, and add a booking tool later if you need one.

Migrating from Cliniko

  1. In Cliniko, export patients as CSV (Settings → Data exports). Names, phones, emails and dates of birth import cleanly into every product here.
  2. Ask the new vendor, before you sign, how they move clinical notes, documents and appointment history and what it costs. Jane and WriteUpp advertise assisted migration at no extra cost.
  3. Keep read access to Cliniko for a month or two while you check the move. Cliniko bills monthly, so the overlap costs one month's subscription.
  4. Rebuild the booking page and the reminder texts before you move the phone line, not after.
  5. If you are moving to Relatica, import the patient CSV yourself in a few minutes, then send a migration request from the setup page: we move history, notes and documents for you free of charge and agree the details in the chat.
What is the best alternative to Cliniko?

It depends on why you are leaving. For the same model at a lower price, Zanda. For an all-in-one, Jane. In Australia and New Zealand, Nookal or Halaxy. In the UK, WriteUpp or TM3. For aesthetic clinics, Pabau. In Cyprus and Greece, Relatica, Iatrico or Galinos Office.

What is the cheapest Cliniko alternative?

Carepatron Free and Halaxy Free have no monthly fee; Relatica Solo is free for one practitioner with up to 50 patients. Among paid plans Zanda Starter is US$19 a month and WriteUpp Flex £19.95 per user. Cliniko itself is US$45.

What Cliniko alternatives are available in Australia?

Nookal (with Medicare claiming), Halaxy (free core, pay per credit), Zanda (formerly Power Diary) and Splose are all Australian. Carepatron and Jane also take Australian clinics.

What is a good Cliniko alternative in Canada?

Jane is built in Vancouver and priced in Canadian dollars, from CA$59 a month. Nookal also lists Canada among its markets.

Which Cliniko alternative is best for aesthetic clinics?

Pabau if you sell retail, memberships and run marketing campaigns; Relatica if you need packages, signed consents and before-and-after photos without the shop; Jane for an English-only clinic that wants a polished all-in-one.

Is Halaxy better than Cliniko?

Halaxy has no fixed fee: the core is free and you pay per credit, so a clinic that sends few SMS pays less. Cliniko is simpler to budget, with one monthly fee and a stated data region. See the side-by-side table near the top of this article.

Which Cliniko alternative is GDPR compliant and hosts data in the EU?

Cliniko stores EU accounts in Ireland. Of the alternatives, Iatrico states AWS Ireland and Relatica states the EU; Zanda states UK, US and Australian regions with GDPR compliance; Nookal, TM3, Jane, WriteUpp, Carepatron and Halaxy mention GDPR in places but do not name a hosting region on the pages we checked. Ask for the Data Processing Agreement before you sign any of them.

Is there a Cliniko alternative in Greek?

Two on this list: Galinos Office (Greek only) and Relatica (Greek, English and Russian, per user and per patient). The others publish English only or do not state their languages.

Which alternative handles GHS (ΓεΣΥ) patients in Cyprus?

Relatica records the beneficiary number, the co-payment and the claim status; it does not submit claims to the GHS portal. Iatrico does not mention the GHS on its site. None of the international products models a European public payer.

Can I import my Cliniko data?

Patients, yes: every product here imports a CSV export from Cliniko. Notes, documents and appointment history depend on the vendor: Jane and WriteUpp advertise assisted migration, and Relatica moves them for you free of charge. Ask any other vendor before you sign.

Should I leave Cliniko at all?

If you work in English, do not deal with a public payer and are not a dental or aesthetic clinic, probably not: it is mature, stable and fairly priced for one to five practitioners. Leave for a concrete reason, such as currency, language, a payer or a chart, and pick the product that fixes that one thing.

Related reading

Start managing your clinic more efficiently

Modern clinic management software for dental clinics, medical practices, and beauty salons.

Try Relatica